Display Accessibility Tools

Accessibility Tools


Highlight Links

Change Contrast

Increase Text Size

Increase Letter Spacing

Readability Bar

Dyslexia Friendly Font

Increase Cursor Size

NMR Nobel Laureates

A brief historical account of the Nobel Prize Laureates clearly shows the track of the discovery, development, and applications of NMR spectroscopy.

  • Otto Stern, USA: Nobel Prize in Physics 1943, "for his contribution to the development of molecular ray method and his discovery of the magnetic moment of the proton"
  • Isidor I. Rabi, USA: Nobel Prize in Physics 1944, "for his resonance method for recording the magnetic properties of atomic nuclei"
  • Felix Bloch, USA and Edward M. Purcell, USA: Nobel Prize in Physics 1952, "for their discovery of new methods for nuclear magnetic precision measurements and discoveries in connection therewith"
  • Richard R. Ernst, Switzerland: Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1991, "for his contributions to the development of the methodology of high resolution nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy
  • Kurt Wüthrich, Switzerland: Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2002, "for his development of nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy for determining the three-dimensional structure of biological macromolecules in solution"
  • Paul C. Lauterbur, USA and Peter Mansfield, United Kingdom: Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2003, "for their discoveries concerning magnetic resonance imaging"